12 February 2007 Monday

08 February 2007 Thursday

06 February 2007 Tuesday

  • Delegates Meet on Child Soldiers
    A two-day conference on children involved in armed conflict convened with delegates from 55 countries to address the issue and discuss ......
  • Dissident Turkish Cypriot Journalist Attacked
    Union of Cyprus Journalists and the European Federation of Journalists condemn the recent attact northern Cypriot cartoonist and columnist Hüseyin Çakmak ......

05 February 2007 Monday

01 February 2007 Thursday

  • MP Submits Motions on Womens Rights
    Main opposition CHP MP Erbatur submits three parliamentary motions inquiring about governments inaptitude on underage marriages, gender discrimination on employement by ......
  • International GLB Meeting on Media
    Kaos Gay and Lesbian Cultural Studies and Solidarity Foundation organizes for a second year the International Meeting Against Homophobia. This years ......

31 January 2007 Wednesday

  • Health Workers Protest Draft Legislation
    Health care workers protested against the draft legislation that would harm employees personal rights. Government wants to liberalize the health sector ......
  • Convicted Journalist Released After 5 Years
    Journalist Memik Horuz says recent improvements in maximum security F-type facilities hadnt come into effect. He was released from Bolu F-type ......
  • Womens Film Festival Sets Off
    International Filmmor Womens Film Festival will be held for the fifth time between March 10 and 18, in Istanbul. This years ......
  • Reactions to Hrant Dink Killing
    PressNow and Caucasus Media Institute condemn the killing of Turkish-Armenian writer Hrant Dink in seperate statements. Both organizations voice hopes for ......
  • ECHR Rules For Stability
    The Strasbourg court decides that the 10 percent electoral threshold in Turkey doesnt constiute a violation of free expression of the ......

30 January 2007 Tuesday

29 January 2007 Monday

  • RSF and PEN Statements on Dink Murder
    Reporters Sans Frontiers and International PEN condemn Hrant Dink murder and called on Turkish authorities to ensure those responsible are brought ......
  • AI Condemns Hrant Dink Killing
    Amnesty International called on Turkish authorities for an impatial investigation into writer Hrant Dinks murder and to condemn all forms of ......
  • Nationalists Surface After Dinks Funeral
    Thousands marched in assassinated Turkish-Armenian writer Hrant Dinks funeral. Nationalist and racist reaction rises following chanted slogans Were all Armenians. Debate ......

25 January 2007 Thursday

24 January 2007 Wednesday

  • Turco-Greek Peace Broker Ismail Cem Dies
    One of the longest serving Minister of Foreign Affairs, İsmail Cem dies at the age of 67. During his term Cem ......
  • Police Protection to Seven Writers
    Police department declares that personal protection is assigned to seven writers and journalists who receive threats. The enforcement comes following Turkish-Armenian ......
  • Threatening E-mail to Agos Newspaper
    Assasinated Turkish-Armenian writer Hrant Dinks newspaper Agos receives an e-mail threat signed as TIT. Newspapers lawyer Çetin says that they filed ......
  • Wars Destruction in the Middle East
    The ongoing World Social Forum witnesses numerous assemblies on environmental issues in an unprecedented manner. Statistics show Israeli and US agression ......
  • Do We Need a Murder for Each Reform?
    While marching with thousands behind Hrant Dinks coffin, Prof. Insel, lawyers Pekin and Tanrıkulu, journalists Duran and Köhne and musician Akın ......

23 January 2007 Tuesday

22 January 2007 Monday

  • Death of the Journalist
    The establishment rendered it probable and a boy with nothing to loose realized the unthinkable. Once again, the myth of tolerance ......
  • A Doves Skittishness in My Soul
    Yes, I can feel myself as restless as a dove but I know that in this country people do not touch ......
  • Hrant Dink Killing Suspect Caught
    Prosecution released the CCTV footage of a young man running away from the crime scene and his own father identified Ogun ......

19 January 2007 Friday

17 January 2007 Wednesday

15 January 2007 Monday

10 January 2007 Wednesday

  • Investigation into Prison Bloodshed
    Regional administrative court gives way, after six years, for an investigation into the operation into prison facilities which left 32 people ......
  • Energy Privatization Schemes Postponed
    The government postpones the privatization of electrical distribution infrastructures dueb to worries that it would cost them dearly in coming elections. ......

09 January 2007 Tuesday

08 January 2007 Monday

04 January 2007 Thursday

  • Murder in Cold Blood
    69 countries exercise capital punishment. In 2005, more than 2 thousand people were executed. Each one of those murdered will be ......
  • Violence Towards Children Escalate in 2006
    Lawyer Akco says that last year saw a retraction on childrens rights issues, despite positive last minute changes in legislation. Domestic ......
  • Human Rights at Halt in 2006
    Human rights activists evaluate 2006 as a lost year for their causes: Kurdish conflict undermine all struggle as its not possible ......
  • A Hopeful Year Ahead for Womens Rights
    Womens rights activist say 2006 was a year of legislative improvements and escalating solidarity among different organizations and hope to see ......

28 December 2006 Thursday

27 December 2006 Wednesday

25 December 2006 Monday

  • A Noel Without Snow in Istanbul
    A chorus of three are singing as I enter. Candles, lights and fumes illuminate the interior. Frescoes look brighter than ever. ......
  • PEN Urges Legislation Change
    International PEN welcomed writer Calislars acquittal on insulting Ataturk but it said concerns continue for others. The organization calls for sending ......
  • Minister Drops Out on Violence at Schools
    Minister of Education proposes to move children inclined to violence out of schools and to distant education as a last resort. ......
  • Petition for Peace on Kurdish Conflict
    322 prominent writer, academic, artist, activist and politicians issue a petition today calling all parties to work towards peace on the ......

22 December 2006 Friday

  • Awakening the Liberal Muggle
    Can we imagine a radically democratic world? This challenge is more than the identification of a set of ethics for adversaries; ......

20 December 2006 Wednesday

18 December 2006 Monday

14 December 2006 Thursday

13 December 2006 Wednesday

12 December 2006 Tuesday

08 December 2006 Friday

07 December 2006 Thursday

06 December 2006 Wednesday

05 December 2006 Tuesday

04 December 2006 Monday

01 December 2006 Friday

27 November 2006 Monday

22 November 2006 Wednesday

21 November 2006 Tuesday