17 December 2004 Friday

15 December 2004 Wednesday

  • My Grandmother Heranus
    During the 1915 Armenian deportation, Mrs. Heranus was forcibly taken away from her mother by soldiers. Her name was changed to ......

14 December 2004 Tuesday

  • Kurdish Demands Ahead of EU Summit
    200 Kurdish intellectuals living in Turkey and Europe, from Zana to Uzun, from Elci to Rojin, listed their demands ahead fo ......
  • Radio Trial Awaits Propaganda Ruling
    A court, handling the trial opened against Radyo Dunya for citing an announcement by the imprisoned PKK leader Ocalan, decided the ......
  • Being a Handicapped Feminist
    The disabled women congress is a first step toward helping women fight against not only problems arising from being disabled, but ......

13 December 2004 Monday

  • Writer Parlak Free Until Ruling
    Suna Parlak, a writer for the Ulkede Ozgur Gundem newspaper, who was detained for being a member of the outlawed Kongra-Gel ......
  • IHD: Parlaks Detention is Illegal
    The Human Rights Association said that the detention of Parlak, a writer for the Ulkede Ozgur Gundem newspaper, is illegal. It ......

10 December 2004 Friday

06 December 2004 Monday

03 December 2004 Friday

30 November 2004 Tuesday

29 November 2004 Monday

25 November 2004 Thursday

  • Prosperous Yet Unhealty
    Inhabitants of Turkeys most prosperous province Kocaeli, benefit from lesser health facilities than Turks living in the German city Dusseldorf, shows ......
  • Erdogan Questioned on Mass Grave
    INdependent Deputy Sirin handed a question motion to Prime Minister Erdogan about a mass grave found in Diyarbakir and claimed to ......
  • Mother Tongue Problem in Childrens Rights
    Prof. Polat said Turkey still didnt pass harmonization laws about the Childrens Rights Convention, 15 years after adopting it. According to ......
  • Two Children and a Man Killed
    It was the most recent of frequent explosions in Hakkari, an area heavily polluted by anti-personnel landmines and other unexploded ordinances ......
  • Anti-Landmine Campaign in Kurdish Region
    Its estimated that at least 50 people, mostly women and children, have died or been wounded this year alone as a ......
  • Torture Defendants are Mostly Acquitted
    The June, July and September reports of the Turkish Human Rights Foundation show that defendants facing charges of torture are mostly ......

18 November 2004 Thursday

  • A 30-day DEHAP punishment to Hakkari FM
    RTUK gives a 30-day closure to Hakkari FM because of Democratic People Partys chair Suvagcis words. In the program he condemned ......
  • AI: Judicial Remedies Against Tortures
    Cases against nine police officers from the Istanbul Anti-Terror Branch who were charged with torturing Yeter and 14 others in another ......
  • Five Women, 75 Men Engineers
    Women lawyers said MTA discriminated against women by employing 75 men and only five women. They called on women to spend ......
  • Torture was Set Free
    A court acquitted police officers Ismail Icen and Mustafa Yucel, who were being charged for torturing Daslik. Her lawyer appealed the ......

11 November 2004 Thursday

09 November 2004 Tuesday

05 November 2004 Friday

04 November 2004 Thursday

  • Court Lifts The RTÜK Ban on Local Radio
    3rd Administrative Court in Adana lifted the ban on the local Radyo Dünya for airing Kurdish music during a Turkish language ......
  • Draft Law Legalizes Torture
    The Draft Law on Execution of Penalties, introducing forced labor, uniforms, defining silent protests as disciplinary crimes and imposing solitary confinement ......

02 November 2004 Tuesday

28 October 2004 Thursday

27 October 2004 Wednesday

22 October 2004 Friday

  • Greens: Reform and Trust Key to EU
    The Green Group in the European Parliament, in a public statement after 3-day meeting in Istanbul, encourages Turkish government for further ......

20 October 2004 Wednesday

19 October 2004 Tuesday

18 October 2004 Monday

15 October 2004 Friday

11 October 2004 Monday

07 October 2004 Thursday

  • IPA Calls for Amendment to Penal Code
    International Publishers Association sent a letter to the Presidency of the EU and the Commission seeking their assistance in calling upon ......

06 October 2004 Wednesday

05 October 2004 Tuesday

30 September 2004 Thursday

29 September 2004 Wednesday

27 September 2004 Monday

24 September 2004 Friday

  • 400 Activists Gather for New Tactcis
    Activists from across the globe gather in Ankara in the New Tactics in Human Rights International Symposium. At least 400 representatives ......

21 September 2004 Tuesday

  • IHDs Letter on Systematic Torture
    According to the IHD, the fact that prosecutors, judges and forensic medical experts do not document torture by police, is an ......
  • Women Have Same Problems in EU
    During the international symposium titled, Women in Turkey and the EU: Toward a Joint Understanding organized by Ka-Der, participants discussed womens ......

17 September 2004 Friday

15 September 2004 Wednesday

  • Formula in Adultery
    When the opposition of the Republican Peoples Party (CHP) was also added to the reactions raised from the domestic and foreign ......
  • 90 Trials for 192 Editions of Daily Gundem
    Editor-in-chief Ucar said 12 new cases have been brought against the daly Ulkede Ozgur Gundem after the DGMs were annulled. It ......
  • Reforms Yet Insufficient for Free Speech
    IHD workers Salman and Kizgin are being tried for insulting state officials because of their posts. The same people are trying ......

14 September 2004 Tuesday

09 September 2004 Thursday

  • Mediterranean, Time Bomb!
    Greens from Turkey and Spain urge for resignation of their respective Ministers of Environment for their part in the sinking of ......

08 September 2004 Wednesday

  • Turkey Should Be Welcomed in The EU
    An independent Commission comprising of prominent European politicians such as Martti Ahtisaari former Finland president and former EU commissioner Hans van ......

06 September 2004 Monday

01 September 2004 Wednesday

31 August 2004 Tuesday

  • Bring The Junta to Justice
    The Seventy-eighters Initiative urges for prosecution of the leaders of the 1980 military coup. Labor unions, political parties and professional chambers ......
  • Change of Mentality on August 30
    The Turkish Armed Forces implemented a series of changes at the August 30 Victory Day celebrations, launching civilianization. In this years ......

27 August 2004 Friday

  • Adultery War Between AKP and CHP
    Justice and Development Party AKP called on Parliament for an extraordinary session on September 14, to tackle the Penal Law motion. ......

26 August 2004 Thursday

25 August 2004 Wednesday

24 August 2004 Tuesday

23 August 2004 Monday

  • Allow Us, Let Us Try
    The Chief Public Prosecutor has asked for an investigation permit from the Transport minister Yildirim for Karaman, General Manager of the ......
  • Nazimes Husband Burned Her to Death
    Alir asked for help from the officials before she was murdered. The subgoverner is now full of regret. The villagers and ......